Kapitari Group Retreat Testimonials

holisticandy@gmail.com
Rated 9.84 /10 based on 25

-0001-11-30
USA

10/ 10stars
10

Kapitari Retreat: September 8th-14th 2013

My experience at Kapitari was wonderful. I was the only woman out of a group of 14 and felt right at home with Don Lucho and his family. Mamacita and the ladies cooked delicious food for us everyday and took special care in preparing "dieta" meals for all including a few vegetarians in the group. Don Lucho and Mamacita were also very helpful in advising specific plant medicines for chronic ailments and general well being. Tambo #4 was lovely. Thank you Mamacita for suggesting the lady of the group to stay there. : )
We were very fortunate to have Don Lucho, his son and Grandpa all present our first ceremony. Their icaros were magical and soothing. I highly recommend the walk to see Don Lucho's farm land. His work is so important to the conservation and sustainability of the Manacamiri region. Many thanks also go out to our facilitators and thanks to everyone at Kapitari for your care and hospitality. I highly recommend this retreat to all, but especially to those who are first timers with the jungle medicine. You will have a safe and comfortable experience there.


-0001-11-30
Length Training

10/ 10stars
10

Words can't convey enough!

Truly a life changing retreat and very well organized. My experience at Kapitari was by far the most valuable trip I have ever taken in my life. Like most people, I don't have an issue enjoying all the amenities of a 5 star hotel. But for this retreat, don't expect this to the the case. Instead, expect to be surrounded by the natural comforts of the Amazon Jungle and the Kapitari tribal community. Their hospitality was pure and compassionate the food was of the healthiest caliber. Upon leaving, my body felt light as a feather, my mind seemed to be clearer than its ever been before, and I had been introduced to my soul in a way that is simply unforgettable. If you're someone who is serious about exploring deep realities and discovering yourself in a different way, then this retreat is awaiting your arrival for an important purpose.


2012-01-15
Aiming

9/ 10stars
9

Kapitari Jan 2014

We are a couple from Toronto and we came to Peru to drink for the first time.. Considering the experience in retrospect, we could not have been happier with our experience at Kapitari.. All your basic needs are provided for so given that your not seeking luxury, Kapitari is a top choice. The staff were great and along with Don Lucho and his family, will always have our support..


-0001-11-30
Brooklyn, USA

10/ 10stars
10

June 2013

When I finally decided to go to Peru to experience Ayahuasca, I was nervous on where. The most important thing to me was feeling safe. I was going to a country I've never visited before, with only enough spanish to get by in restaurant but not to negotiate something like an ayahuasca ceremony. Nobody I personally knew had ever tried something like this (none of my friends knew had ever heard of ayahuasca.) Ao I felt a bit on my own.

I'm am very glad my research online led me to Kapitari. They were exactly as advertised. The personal tambos (sleeping huts) were clean, the food was plentiful and the jungle was beautiful. I saw little monkeys swinging around my tambo and Blue Morpho butterflies over the lake.

The most valuable part of the experience was the people. Don Lucho held amazing ceremonies that were beautiful and the staff at Kapitari were excellent. Most importantly, the facilitators were extremely kind and generous people. They set the tone for the entire retreat. Not once did I feel taken advantage of. The entire group was in turn very supportive and loving. Even though we all came from completely different reasons, backgrounds, and we were different ages, we quickly became a family in a short time (sounds super cheese to me but it's true.) There was nothing but respect between everyone for the entire trip. I believe that had everything to do with how they ran the retreat. They gave me exactly what I was looking for and that was the feeling of being safe.

I couldn't recommend their program enough and I plan on coming back to Peru to thank them again in person.


-0001-11-30
Minnesota

10/ 10stars
10

09/13

An eye opening experience with an amazing group of people. The facilitators are truly great for what they do. We started the retreat as strangers from all walks of life that became a family very quickly. Don Lucho and his family are kind loving people. Kapitari is an amazing place. Lots of good food, plenty of meals, a place to swim, and plenty of privacy to reflect and relax. I enjoyed myself so much that I will be returning for the December retreat.


-0001-11-30
Vancouver, Canada

10/ 10stars
10

September, 2013

What a sacred place!!
Being surrounded with beautiful people and nature made such a great experience.
Being in the jungle made me realize how disconnected we are from the nature.

Thank you so much!! Andy, Don Lucho and his family. I will be back~!!!!!


-0001-11-30
Kapitari

10/ 10stars
10

Sept/2013

Kapitari is just a MAGNIFICENT place for an ayahuasca retreat!
Don Lucho's ceremonies were amazing in all regards. His kind and gentile nature combined with awe-inspiring icaros made every journey a timeless and wonderful experience.
The supporting cast is made up of lovely Peruvians who go out of their way to make you feel safe and comfortable.
The setting is serene, wild, and beautiful with pristine nature, fresh water lagoons, friendly farm animals, parrots, and a night time sky to die for.
The individual tambas (huts) which you stay in are both comfortable and private.
The days are filled with activities but not so much so that you don't have sufficient time to meditate, read, or just have some alone time to reflect on all your amazing prior experiences.
I HIGHLY recommend this retreat to anyone interested in experiencing ayahuasca in the jungles of Peru.
Your authentic, safe, and out of this world journey is waiting for you at Kapitari!
Enjoy!


-0001-11-30
Jersey

10/ 10stars
10

September 2013

Absolutley LOVED my time spent at Kapitari. Don Lucho and his family were extremely hospitable I only wish i spoke more spanish so i could of expressed my gratitude fully. The place is amazing and was the perfect back drop for my first experiences with Ayahuasca and would definitely recommend this retreat to anyone. Kapitari and the souls that I met there will forever be etched in my heart! A BIG thanks to Jeannie, Lucho and Andy for allowing us to have these unique experiences but moreso for helping us along every step of the way. MUCH LOVE X


-0001-11-30
Australia

10/ 10stars
10

Sept 2013

What a great experience. Don Lucho and his family took great care of us.

Can't wait till next time!


-0001-11-30
Iquitos

10/ 10stars
10

7/2013

If you are looking to delve deeper within yourself in a safe, judgement free, and stunningly gorgeous environment then accept no substitute for Kapitari. I promise you will be in good hands- Don Lucho And Andy were born to do what they do...


-0001-11-30
Ottawa, Canada

10/ 10stars
10

July / 2013

When Aya calls, Kapitari is where I go to marinate in pure love. It’s where Nature finds my shoes as abhorrent as I do, and quickly, creatively, reclaims them—turning them into a termite mound overnight, or conspiring with mud puddles to gobble them off my feet. There is no need of shoes at Kapitari. There is no need of anything. There are no “trappings”…simply wee thatched huts for sleeping in, nurturing mud/fruit baths, giggles with the locals, reinvigorating swims, parrot greetings, cosmic night skies, global kindred spirits, simple nutritious meals, and the breathing, stirring aliveness of Mother Jungle. It will move you. Don Lucho and his family are open, kind and loving healers. For those who come seeking answers, healing, or to do the hard-hard-gritty-hard soul work, Don Lucho will safely and beautifully move you through each healing and journeying ceremony. His relationship with our many plant allies and teachers is exquisite. As Retreat Coordinator, Andy Metcalfe readily provides all the information you need to navigate the travel, social, retreat and ceremonial journeying. He is pivotal to the Kapitari experience as a skilled facilitator, compassionate confidante, and veteran journeyer/guide. He’s also a damn fine poet.

Go. With Love. xo


-0001-11-30
Dallas, TX

10/ 10stars
10

June 2013

This BY FAR was one of the most amazing experiences of my life! So much so that I am moving back to Peru in 8 days. Don Lucho is the real deal. His icarros are beautiful and surprisingly catchy haha. He makes you feel at home and very comfortable...so do his parrots 🙂 Andy is very supportive throughout everything and knows his stuff. He's also an incredible poet! The people I met in this group, not only the facilitators were beyond anything I could've imagined. I still to this day keep in touch with all of them. I would recommend this retreat to anybody that would listen. There is so much to say about my time there I could write a book. So, to not take up too much time I will keep it simple. If you are reading this review right now...GO TO KAPITARI!! It will be one of the best things you've done for yourself.


-0001-11-30
Kapitari retreat

10/ 10stars
10

December 2012

I was very fortunate to find this retreat at the time I needed. I am not a hippy, star child, new age follower etc. I am a Veteran. After spending 24 years in the British army I have come to question many things about myself and life. I spent a week with the Kapitari retreat, we were well looked after during the whole process and it felt safe. Don Lucho is an excellent shaman and I got the answers to just about everything in one night. Even as I write this the power of those visions overwhelm me and I want to weep. I am thinking of returning at some point. If you are looking for something, anything then come here and be renewed.


-0001-11-30
canada

10/ 10stars
10

Kapitari July 2013

Dear friend, the fact that You are reading these testimonials could mean a few things, one of them is that somehow You've heard about this mysterious brew called Ayahuasca and now are feeling Her call. If it is Your first time and You're looking for a safe, friendly and affordable place to encounter Her, I would strongly recommend Kapitari with it's super friendly inhabitants, a very kind and down to earth shaman Don Lucho and his family, a great facilitator Andy, simple but awesome tambos (dwellings), yummy food and most likely an awesome bunch of people from all parts of the world. It was one of the most memorable weeks in my life ( probably THE most) I've participated in four ceremonies and all four were different. I won't go into details about them for You will have Your own unique ones which will be for You to pounder on 🙂 Will I go back to Kapitari again? YES! Any time I have an opportunity. I am very grateful beyond the words for this experience and people that were involved.


-0001-11-30
England

9/ 10stars
9

June 13

Well, to try and define an experience working with one of the worlds sacred plants isn't straight forwards. It's known these things cater and attend to physical, mental, emotional and spiritual issues and areas with an individuals life. It's possible you will have uncommunicatable visions and experiences of the 'other' dimensions and worlds. It's entirely possible you may just find out the meaning of the word purge, and feel rather similar after it. The plant works in the most infredible way to give you what you need, not always specifically what's desired! It's something to be approached with respect and i reccommend a little back reading, however the great thing about having Andy as a facilitator and Kapitari as a structured retreat is that you may be anybody from any walk of life with a want to learn and explore within; and the guys know what they're doing. Can answer all of your questions and look after you! I think anybody reading this has to have some kind of knowledge to begin with however..
Kapitari's a great chilled out place with your private hut, it's obviously in the jungle so if you're probably not bringing anything like a suit or heels. Lucho's a nice man wih a nice family, I enjoyed both him and his son working together during ceremonies. Ceremonies are great and for many are truly life changing. I met loads of great like minded people during the retreat i've kept touch with. And a few special pieces of info and people i think i'll keep for a very long time 😉


-0001-11-30
New Zealand

10/ 10stars
10

July 15-21 2013

Our group is known as the "awesome ones" amongst ourselves, well at the very least by the end of the most life changing week of our lives we truly believed it. It could not have happened without our fearless leader Andy Metcalfe, who later admitted to us he was a little apprehensive in taking the group by himself as there were a couple of lads that weren't exactly small. And my love goes out to my "Papa" Don Lucho who took us by the hand and lead us to "Mummy" mother ayahuasca with his beautiful love through his icaros he sung for 5 hours straight, OMG what a frikkin Rock Star. Even without the ayahuasca just being there with every single person in the group from nearly every corner of the planet who I can honestly say I love with all my being, my family, was a journey in itself. Last but not least the beautiful Wahine (Chica, seniorita) that kept us fed tight throughout the week, I cannot thank you enough. I hope with all of my heart that you choose Kapitari and experience the same profoundness I did, TIHEI MAURI ORA


-0001-11-30
Austria

9/ 10stars
9

June 2013

Hi

I had some really good experiences in kapitari and i learned a lot during and after the ayahuasca ceremonies.

we had a really good connection in the group. the group circles in which you talked about our experiences really helped me a lot and the facilitators really supported everybody.

i can definitely recommend kapitari to everybody!

regards
Martin


-0001-11-30
Vancouver, BC

10/ 10stars
10

April/13

I came with open expectations and went home with so much more than I could have dreamed of. I feel like in connecting with ayahuasca, my ideal set of beliefs were able to sink into my skin and come to fruition through my actions. I am so much more aware and alive and have greater expectations for myself and my life. I found a family in the facilitators, and Don as well as in my other group members. One of which is my dad and it was special to share this space and experience with him. As I am called to follow my path more diligently, I see with much more awareness the things and actions which bring good results and those and lack of those which cause harm. Everything we do will affect someone else and we have the power to create our lives through choice. Joy or suffering all is choice. Connecting with infinity is remarkable and my life is significantly impacted by this and the multiple ayhuasaca experiences during the retreat. Having the sharing and review sessions with the group (family) was beneficial and helpful to find greater understanding, get feedback from others and gaining insights from their experiences and helped me move forwards in my journey.

While it is a personal quest and we had a great amount of personal time and space, it was comforting and familiar to have a group of people to share it with.
Much love, I will see you again Kapatari

Don Lucho is a very kind and inspiring man. His passion for his project is invigorating!! I am blessed to have recieved his blessings during ceremony.

Andy is a chill and fun facilitator with a lot of experience and wisdom. He is great at explaining the process and what to expect. His awareness run deep. His poetry is moving and insightful.

I hope you enjoy your journey, we all get what we need when we are ready.
Peace, love, joy and ease: may you find your way to what you seek.


-0001-11-30
Vancouver, B.C Canada

10/ 10stars
10

April 2013

This is as authentic of an experience as it gets. As important as the ceremonies are, equally important is the communication with the rest of the group. The group discussions about your ayahuasca experiences after each ceremony, the interpretations, and the feedback you receive from everyone all of it is helpful and therapeutic. Don Lucho is a very hard working and kind man. His family and staff are very friendly and helpful. I learned more about myself in the 7 day group retreat than I could have ever imagined. The entire experience, the place, your surroundings, it's all truly humbling and it's all part of the experience. I will definitely be returning!


-0001-11-30
USA

10/ 10stars
10

April 2013

I believe Ayahausca is very personal and each individual has a completely unique healing experience. For this reason I can not necessarily recommend this avenue of self discover to anyone for I believe that is a personal responsibility. What I can say is that it definitely works for me. I would only want everyone I love to experience it on the level I did at Kapatari. I was drawn to plant medicine through the discouragement and helplessness I have found through western medicine.

Too many experiences broke my mind, heart, body. . During this fundamental break I believe my soul escaped and my physical body started to shut down all by itself without a definitive explanation. Over the past 5 years I have been tested for everything from limes disease to lupus and MS, difficulty with walking, loss of muscular coordination, motor skills and movement of my right arm all on a minimal scale. I underwent several years of physical therapy and chiropractic care testing’s, therapy, constant blood work and lots and of theories of what was compromising my nervous system. Four years later and thousands of dollars in copayments I was finally told that I have a muscular, skeletal neurological disorder but didn’t know which one. I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia regardless of ineffectual evidence to support the diagnosis. It seemed to be an easy out with my doctor. I have done many cleanses, practiced reiki for over 7 years, and try to exercise as much as possible and spend time adoring plants and animals they are our best medicine!

I needed more though and so turned on to the plant medicine of Ayahuasca through a series of coincidental events. I researched for a sometime about where to spend my journey and chose kapitari after watching Don Lucho youtube video posted on his site. I instinctually knew this was where I wanted to be and with whom I wanted to be with. Don Lucho is an extremely beautiful Shaman and person whose heart and spirit is so tightly woven within his work. This is more than obvious upon arrival. He has managed to preserve a complete harmonious balance of living with nature in its most perfect state. He is dedicated to his vision and humbly welcomes his guests with compassion. .

Upon arrival to Iquitos Andy met me at the airport and acquainted me with the city center restaurants banks and such. Much appreciated since I refuse for some reason to travel with a guidebook and very seldom do I know where I’m wondering.

You are not just a visitor here you are part of their family their garden and they are a part of your journey just as much you a part of theirs. I experienced such great physical and emotional connectedness and healing during my time with Jeannie, Andy, Don Lucho and family. I felt privileged to be part of our group and discovered several very important spirit friendships along the way. My time in the jungle with my Kapitari group has illuminated direction within my existence and purpose of intention. My mind clearer and my body lighter. I departed with a sense wholeness on a level that I never expected. I can only hope to return sooner than later.

Thank you!!! Holly


-0001-11-30
Canada

10/ 10stars
10

April, 2013

Amazing, wonderful, and enchanting! I departed on my journey to Kapitari in the jungle with an open heart and mind and both were filled with beautiful people, ideas, and messages. My experience at Kapitari was awe-inspring and I believe it was the people and spirit of Kapitari that made it so. Cosmic energies aligned to bring 15 people, including don Lucho, very close.


-0001-11-30
Canada

10/ 10stars
10

April, 2013

I have just completed an exceptional week at Kapitari.

My daughter also attended and I felt very reassured that she was "safe" with their presence.

I feel very blessed to have had this experience.


-0001-11-30
Chicago

10/ 10stars
10

April, 2013

When choosing to do an Ayahuasca ceremony there are 3 things that a person should consider:

1. What kind of person is the Shaman? In the western world it is very easly to confuse shaman with holy man. There is some overlap for sure but having spent time with Don Lucho and seeing the way in which he spends his money and his energy I can tell you he is an honest and down to earth man. He spends his earnings to create a working/educational/functional permaculture project for the local community to learn how to farm in a way that strengthens the lands fertility without the use of chemicals or heavy machinery. Contrast this with the recient influx of shamans who are motivated by money alone.

2. What do you want to gain from this experience? I attended a 7 day group retreat. Among our group there were people from a multiple of locations around the world and in addition to building lifelong friendships we had the added benefit discussing and sharing our ayahuasca experiences the next day in a group settings. The sharing of information was beneficial in that it allowed us to gain insights from others experiences in addition to our own. If you are someone who benefits from this kind of shared learning experience than I recommend a group retreat.

3. Is it safe? Nothing in life is safe we just fool ourselves into thinking it is ... that being said and coming from a western society with only limited Spanish speaking ability. I felt completely safe. Any questions or concerns pre-trip are answered by email and or skype, the facilitators make every effort to make sure that you have a useful and beneficial experience by being excellent liaisons from the western world to the jungle shaman world. They and Don Lucho also hold the space energetically to allow you to have the best possible ayahuasca ceremonies with a useful growing experience.

I would recommend Kapitari to anyone who feels called to the ayahuasca plant
David
www.gadflyshifts.com


-0001-11-30
USA

10/ 10stars
10

April 2013

This retreat was exactly what i needed. the place that Don Lucho has created is beautiful. i enjoyed being part of his family. The lake is great for swimming. The tambos are situated in the jungle so that I could have privacy if I wanted to. Andy is pretty relaxed yet on top of organizing. The day after meetings were an essential part of understanding not only my own journey, but also let me see the greater context and connection between the whole group. the group was amazingly peaceful and committed. I gained a lovely new family. Food was great and fresh. You have to be ready and show up for this retreat to get the full benefits. Thank you Kapitari for helping me on this healing journey.


-0001-11-30
Canada

9/ 10stars
9

April, 2013

This retreat was a blast. The group had very good chemistry and everyone got along great, we had alot of great discussions and everyone was very caring. The staff did a great job of organizing and planning the retreat. The staff were supportive for people having difficult experiences. After the ceremony the next day there were integrated discussions on everyones experiences and everyone seemed to have alot of fun sharing their stories. The food was pretty basic but very tasty. Alot of it consisted of some of the best fruit I've eaten in along time. All the meals served were very healthy and quite tasty for the ayahuasca diet. Don Lucho was an amazing maestro and his icaros were the best I have ever heard. The ceremony maloka was a good enviroment and it really set the stage for some amazing experiences. The only thing I was kind of disappointed in was the shelter. The shelters werent the greatest, very simple. There was only a bed, toilet, and desk in my room, and the power outlets only worked a couple of hours a day. However they did provide personnel space out in the jungle and provided a genuine experience of sleeping in the amazonian rainforest. For the price of kapitari and all the other fun things to do like swimming in the river and taking mud baths it was very worth it. Great value for the price. Exceeded my expectations. Amazing people, great staff, and a truly remarkable maestro. I will remember this experience for years and will definitely be returning.